When October comes around there are always people looking for things to spook themselves with. Some like to watch horror movies (me!), some travel to a rumoured haunted location, maybe they read stories about life after death. Hey, whatever floats your boat.

NDE’s. Let’s talk about those, shall we? NDE stands for Near Death Experiences. They’re a personal experience associated with death or impending death. People who’ve had them experience multiple possible sensations including detachment from the body, feelings of levitation, total serenity, security, warmth, the experience of absolute dissolution, and the presence of a light.

I was a little hesitant to tell this story because it is a fairly personal one. But I decided to go ahead because these unfortunate events need to be brought out into the open and talked about. Just a little heads up though… It gets a little graphic.

February 13th, 2014. I was one day shy of 7 weeks pregnant with my second baby. The hubby and I were pretty excited! We celebrated Valentine’s Day with a dinner out with our 1 year old. Romantic, eh? Either way, it was very lovely.

The following day I was having stomach pains. I was pretty sure I had this feeling before so I drank some water and shrugged it off. But it got worse. I told my husband that perhaps a trip to the walk-in clinic would be a good idea, since I was pregnant. However, on the way there I began to vomit and pass out in the car. Hubby made a quick decision and took me to the ER instead. Once there, they wheeled me in while my husband spoke to the receptionist. They wanted to transfer me to another hospital, but I heard the nurse say that I wasn’t going to make it. At that moment I said to my husband: “Babe… I don’t feel so well. I think I might pass out again”.

That was the last thing I remember.

Suddenly there I was: 10 feet above myself looking down, watching as the nurses tried to take off my coat and bring me back. I could see everything in that ER room from where I was… I saw my husband speaking to the receptionist, staff members, and other patients in their curtained-off rooms. I remember at that moment it all disappeared and I was walking on what looked like an orange floor that turned into white. That’s the only thing I remember about that vision.

I’m not sure what happened, but I vomited once more all over the nurses (sorry!!) and I was back. I looked up and the nurses staring at me as they said, “Sweetie, you’re very pale and grey.”

Apparently I had lost the baby and was bleeding internally. No one knew if I’d make it out of surgery because they didn’t know the extent of the bleeding or what they’d find. My husband had the unfortunate task of calling family and telling them to prepare for the worst. Thankfully though, I pulled through. I owe it all to my husband for his quick thinking. I wouldn’t be here today if it wasn’t for him.

You’re probably wondering, ‘so what exactly happened and how did it feel?’. The only way I can describe it is this: when you’ve had WAY too much to drink and you finally get home to your bed to lay down? The room spins a little and you give in to your heavy eyes and fall fast asleep. That is exactly how it feels. Emotionally, it was peaceful. I wasn’t scared or worried about what was happening. I just accepted what was going on and gave in.

img_6721

xo

Lana

